E10 in Europe

E10 has been progressively rolled out across Europe since 2009 and is currently available in 14 EU countries: Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Romania and Slovakia.

Almost all new cars are compatible

Most post-2000 petrol vehicles have been declared E10-compatible and all modern petrol vehicles have been optimised for E10.

Non-compatible cars are mainly old and classic cars

Most of the vehicles that have not been declared E10-compatible in Europe are classic cars and old, highly polluting cars. These cars can always use E5.

E10 is used around the world

For example, in the US, E10 was approved for use in any conventional gasoline powered vehicle and E15 was approved to use in model years 2001 and newer cars.

A European Success Story

E10 petrol market share in selected Member States (updated Sept. 2020)